RAINBOW PANCAKES

Hello there lovers of food , as always I hope each one of is well and eating right. ‘Right’ here I mean quality over everything,  get that value for your money foodies.

This month I was tasked to do a rainbow post. When I heard the word rainbow I was pretty excited because colour and rainbow itself represents happiness, hippie vibe, positivity and being a free spirit.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

It was abit challenging especially in deciding on what to make ,so know you know its not all merry in food blogging.Come to think of it I am a perfectionist for sure so I usually get anxious when I am doing a post. But through my creativity grace and also trying to be unique I decided on rainbow pancakes. Round and colorful as they are my mind was fixated on how to execute the dish as the idea stuck in my head the whole week as I was planning to make it.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I went to different stores within Nairobi looking for food colours. I was really disappointed because I couldn’t find all the colours in one store thus leaving me to visit a couple more. I  bought them at Ebrahims and Nakumatt Moi Avenue. I should have gone to Nakumatt Mega but due to school commitments I didn’t have time to go there because I am pretty sure I would have found all the colors that I needed in one place.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

When I was doing the post and trying to make sure I don’t miss or skip a color I remembered the song I used to sing back in my primary school years. So it goes like this,  Richard Of York Gave Battle In Vain . The letters in bold represent the orders of the colors in a rainbow. It always worked every single time. Colours are fun you need to incorporate it into your daily food preparation as it spruces up the food.

You can also be creative and mix in other colors to come up with your own color creation, be brave with colours.

As I was preparing the pancakes I had color all over my apron and also on my kitchen surface. It brought in the vibe of attending a holi ceremony and splashes of colors every where. I super enjoyed making the pancakes for sure. Rainbow pancakes can be good for kids especially from the age of five ,  but make sure you put a small amount of food color in the pancake batter.

May the colours bring you all joy , may it brighten your day and all in all I send y’all  peace  love and abundance.

Ingredients

80g butter

1tsp cinnamon

Food colour- Red, Orange, Yellow, Green and Blue

Two cups of self raising flour

4 tablespoons sugar

A pinch of salt

3 eggs

2 cups of milk

½ tsp baking powder

Method

First things first make the pancake batter. You can either use a pancake mix which you can find it in the stores for those who want the easy way out or make it on your own.

To make you own pancake batter using a bowl first sieve the flour . Then add in melted butter ,baking powder , cinnamon , sugar and salt. Ensure you mix well. Pour in the egg milk and using a a hand mixer mix it until smooth.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

 

Split the pancake butter into six portions. Take six bowls and add in batter and then colour, then stir. Do that for all the six colours and set it aside.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

For the indigo colour you need to mix blue and red together. I wasn’t able to make the violet colour because I didn’t have pink food colour which could have been used to produce it.

Using a non stick pan or griddle, slow cook your pancakes.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

IMG_0063

IMG_0079

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

 

IMG_0072

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

IMG_0064

Serve it in rainbow color order . You can serve it with either honey which I used, nutella or marshamallows.

IMG_0056

IMG_0059

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

IMG_0060

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

 They were absolutely delicious, though I wish I had nutella.

I  hope you enjoyed the post. Feel free to like, comment and share.

Until then, thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

